This is where we are. Now.

Long time, no post! 

So in my last post, I had to get that whole heartbreak story off my chest and now I think I’m completely over it! (No seriously, I can look at pictures of him and his wife without hyperventilating so yay-progress!) 

I have now decided to start dating again. For the last couple of months, I was in what one might term an ‘exclusive situationship’ wit this guy. Let’s call him O. So I ‘met’ O on Facebook, I don’t normally accept requests from randoms but I checked out his pictures and he looked niiiiice! You know those kind of guys that effortlessly wear the hell out of a three-piece suit, complete with lapel pins or pocket squares and always the right shoes (because shoes are so important)? Yes, that’s O. He sort of had that ‘international man of mystery’ aura around him. Always jetting off to one location or the other for work or play, posting pictures of the most amazing views…I was ready to be wooed by him. 

So he struck up a conversation and it went pretty well. He told me about his work and it turned out we were in the same industry! Well, I was on the boring desk-job side of things while he was on the jet-fuel abuser side. He said he’ll be in Abuja for work soon and we planned to meet up! 

Things happened. He came, we hit it off, we hooked up, it was great. And then this continued for about 5 months. But wait, it’s not as rosy as it sounds! In that period of about 5 months, I got to see him only like 3 times. And even when he was in Nigeria, he had business interests in other cities aside from Abuja. Look, we weren’t officially official but we had this understanding that we weren’t seeing other people. But in-between his trips to Abuja, it felt like some long-ass dry spell! And full disclosure-I’m a very sexual person, so it was hard for me. I mean, a regular dry-spell isn’t so bad because you’re not seeing anyone. But imagine seeing someone who you only get to seeee once in two months. What the eff? 

Anyway, so I had to let him know that the situation wasn’t working out for me. Great guy, ticked most off the boxes. A little too serious sometimes, but I could overlook that. Prime husband candidate if I’m being completely honest. But it just wasn’t for me. I need someone who is here, now and has me completely entranced. 

So I’m trying out ‘dating’ in the most genuine form, and also I signed up for Tinder! 🙂 

Leave a comment